Uncategorized

David:   We have talked a great deal about your experiences with EVP and with the Direct Radio Voice (DRV).  But have you any experience of messages through other media – for example through the fax or the telephone?

 Anabela:   Yes, as a matter of fact I started receiving paranormal messages through the telephone in May 2001.  These consisted of a few words of identification (for example my father, who said ‘Sou o Pai’, I am father), whispers, and other strange sounds.  The first seemingly paranormal telephone call was a message left on my mobile phone.  Since then I have had several other messages, always in the form of messages left either on the mobile phone or on the answer phone in my house, where they are still stored.   Interestingly, in two or three of these calls Timestream clearly identify themselves by saying ‘Rio de Tempo’.      

 David:   What about computer messages?

Anabela:   I’ve tried the so-called Schreiber method for receiving paranormal computer images, and I received some of both humans and animals.  In fact I used one of these on the cover of the last issue of the ITC Journal.  I should add that lately – as a result of time pressures – I unfortunately have not been able to continue trying for images.  I dedicate all my energies to audio work, which in any case seems much more meaningful to me because you can receive more extensive information about the next world through this media.

 David:   Do you find the computer useful to your work in other ways?

 Anabela:   Yes of course.  The computer is a good tool for my audio work in that I can use  software that enables me to listen repeatedly to the individual voices for the purposes of detailed analysis.  This software also enables me to use strategies such as noise reduction and equalisation to help me comprehend audio messages that are less clear.  As you know, the majority of direct radio voices (DRV) are accompanied by strong background white noise, and the computer allows me to reduce this.

 David:  What software do you use? 

Anabela:   I find ‘Sound Forge’ particularly helpful, but there are many other relevant programmes.  It’s largely a matter of personal preference.

 David:   In your article in the previous issue of the ITC Journal you explained how to modify a radio in order to receive only wide band white noise.  Yet in the same article you say that it is not a good idea to use a white noise tape.  What advantages does the wide band have over a white noise tape?

 Anabela:   This is a little difficult to explain.  The wide band agglomerates, or adds together, all the radio frequencies across the range of transmissions.  Thus – if I can put it this way – it ‘deconstructs’ or ‘scrambles’ the voices contained in these transmissions.  So we can say that although it doesn’t actually carry any audible normal voices, normal voice sounds are still potentially present within it.  By contrast, a white noise tape has never had any normal voices associated with it.   My theory is that the deconstructed voice sounds contained within wide band assist the communicators in some way.  Perhaps the communicators are able to remodulate these voice sounds and to build their own words from them.

David:   From time to time you receive messages through the DRV method which give you details of the world from which the communicators say they are speaking.  What have you learnt about this world? 

Anabela:   It’s very difficult to summarise, because I have received such extensive information.  Briefly, and in Timestream’s own words, it’s ‘A world very similar’ to our own – only much more beautiful.  However, the values of their world are, as they put it, ‘very different’ from ours. Timestream tell us that these values emphasise the equality of all life.  In reply to my question about the relationships between humans, animals and plants once they reach Timestream’s world, they informed me that ‘Here in the world of  Timestream we are all equal’.  Therefore  humans are not placed above animals and the rest of creation.  In addition, extraordinary capacities such as telepathy, transportation by thought alone, and the ability to be in two places at once with full consciousness, belong to their world.  Such capacities are shared by everyone.

David:   Do you understand that everyone goes to their world after death?

 Anabela:   Carlos de Almeida, speaking from Timestream, answered my question about the survival of plants by telling me  ‘Don’t forget that plants are beings of your world.  From that world all pass into ours’.

 David:   And presumably progress is possible in their world.  Many of the great spiritual traditions speak of the possibility of this progress, as do many other communicators (for example Arthur Conan Doyle speaking through Grace Cook, Frederick Myers speaking through Geraldine Cummings, and of course the Imperator Group speaking through Stainton Moses).

Anabela:   I haven’t asked Timestream about progress in their world, but I have asked them about progress in this one.  They tell me for instance, that suffering is very important for our spiritual progress.  They also tell me that all beings in our world feel emotions and all feel suffering.

David:   Have they told you anything about reincarnation?  I imagine people often ask you that question.

Anabela:  Yes, I’ve asked them if reincarnation is a reality, and their answer is ‘Only if there is no other way’.  This suggests to me that rebirth into our world is a possibility, but that it is only one of the paths towards spiritual progress and development.  I assume there are many options open to us, and the one that we take may depend upon what we still have to learn.  I assume also that more advanced beings will be there to provide help and guidance when it comes to decision-making.

Now can I ask if you are making any reference to ITC in your new book?

 David:   My latest book is on Psychology, Religion and Spirituality, and it may contain a brief reference to ITC.  But it doesn’t really deal with the area.  However, I’m now planning a book on survival research in general, and this will certainly say among other things a great deal about your experimental results, and the results of the many other serious investigators who have given us details of their findings.

Anabela:   Will you be expressing any reservations about the subject?

David:  One of the main things I intend to stress is that experimenters should be very cautious about the claims they make for their results.  You make this point yourself in your article in the last issue of the ITC Journal.  Ambitious claims that cannot be fully substantiated only make people (especially scientists) very suspicious.  And such claims therefore discredit the whole field.  Also some of the published work quoting communications verbatim can give the impression that such communications are heard as clearly as the normal human voice.  And as we both know, this is rarely the case.  So when people who have read this work and who are new to ITC hear recordings of these messages, they end up disappointed and dismissive of the subject.

I also intend to stress the time, energy, commitment and sensitivity needed if communications are to be obtained.  ITC work isn’t easy, and certainly isn’t for the casual investigator, as you yourself have made clear.

Let me finish by thanking you again Anabela for sharing your experience with us so fully and so openly.  Your work is an inspiration to everyone interested in the field.

Concluded

ITC Corner: David Fontana in dialogue with Anabela Cardoso (Part III)

Aside

Leave a Reply

